A. It’s tough to choose a favorite professor. I suppose I would technically have one, but to deem one my favorite seems like I would be lying. I’ve not really had a professor significantly alter who I am as a writer or person. Part of that is their fault, but the blame is partially mine to bare as well . I could certainly name a number of professional writers or bloggers who have made a noteworthy impact though.


By best paper I’ve ever written, I’m assuming that regards to school work. Well to be honest, once I’ve finished and handed in my work, it fades from my memory instantaneously.  I could probably pick one of my best pieces I’ve written outside of school. In the past nine months I’ve done whole lot of writing for the gaming blog I write for and I really loved the opening paragraph of my my recent review. I felt that it did a better job of conveying what the game was all about than any traditional style review would have.


Picking a most influential book is an easy one, because it’s also my favorite. J.R.R Tolkien's The Hobbit has influenced my tastes in entertainment quite a bit. I love the level of detail in his writing and it’s something I attempt to emulate in my own work.


I think the single most important concept I’ve learned over the years is to just be yourself. I know it seems cliche, but no better advice can be given. You should never be too derivative, even of the best writers. Develop your own voice and don’t try to be too formal. Most people would much rather read a article that talks to the reader like a human being rather than something so formulaic that it feels disingenuous.


B. “Miller, if I didn’t know any better, I wouldn’t have thought you were the one who wrote this.”

While not exactly the best of compliments to my personality at the time, my high school journalism teacher went on to tell me that I had a knack for writing. Throughout the remainder of the school year he encouraged me to improve my talent and find a college with a respectable writing program.


C. It was in my senior year of high school that I knew I wanted to be a game critic. After taking my first step to improve my writing during my journalism class, I began to find my focus. I had loved playing and talking about games my whole life, but now that I knew I had the potential to make a career of it, I worked toward my goal. While I originally considered the field I was aiming for gaming journalism, it’s evolved over the years to game blogger/critic.


D. Well the prior paragraph does a good job summing up a portion of why I want the career I do, but I suppose there is more to it.  One major factor is just seeing and hearing how great the job can be. So many people work the stereotypical 9-5 job and despise what they do. Nothing could be more idiotic. If I’m going to have to do something 40+ hours a week, I might as well enjoy it.


E & F. How have I prepared myself to succeed and how has school prepared me to succeed are two very different things. I’d say the latter of the two, hasn’t done a whole lot. Once I have my bachelors it will have been of some use but in comparison to what I’ve done on my own accord, schooling has been insignificant.  I just don’t let a day go by without getting some sort of writing done. I also seek out critique and feedback from average readers, talented writers, and those already working in my career field. I’m always working at improving all the relevant skills for a gaming critic. Some of those skills have been developing my own voice, writing different types of articles, and understanding what my target audiences wants.


G. What makes me believe I can succeed? Well other than the required skill set, I have the equally important drive to succeed.  What’s the point of being talented if you're not motivated to do anything with the abilities you possess?



Leave a Reply.